Day 106 – 118 – Female Allstars (13 MC’s)

April 4, 2011 § Leave a comment

When I started performing in the Twin Cities (1997) many women came up to me and told me that they were writers too but they hadn’t shared what they were doing on stage or with anyone else. I realized that people just need an example and that’s enough to inspire them to pick up the mic. Obviously, I wasn’t the first female MC in the Twin Cities but I definitely tore down a lot of the barriers that were in the way at the time by hosting, producing/promoting hip hop shows and performing every chance I got. Creating a female presence automatically opened the door for others who were undercover rappers.

Today’s pick is a set of 13 MC’s known as the Female Allstars on a track called “Grab That Mic”. If they don’t encourage you to do just that well then, I don’t know what will.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 106 – 118 – Female Allstars (13 MC’s) at thedesdamona.

meta

